Be not Deceived

Deception is as common as truth. Jacob was deceived  by Laban who offered him his youngest daughter Rachel if Jacob worked for him for seven years. After Jacob faithfully served Laban for seven years, Laban deceived Jacob by giving him his oldest daughter Leah instead. Jacob was very angry when he learned that he would have to work another seven years for Rachel’s hand in marriage.Later on Jacob deceived Laban and finally got his revenge.(Genesis 29,30,31) Isn’t getting even the way of the world?

I’m sure at one time we were either the deceiver or the deceivee—perhaps both. Any human relationship is capable of disception in one way or the other.  God is the only person who is 100% trustworthy because His Word is truth. He knows our motives and our heart.

So, not to worry. If you have been deceived, call on God and let Him take care of it. “It is God that delivers me from my enemies. You lift me up above those that rise against me…..” (Psalm 18:47,48) If you have been the deceiver. repent because God already knows what you have done so there’s no use in trying to hide from God. “Where shall I go from your Spirit? Where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend up to heaven, you are there. If I make my bed in hell, you are there….the darkness does not hide me from you….) (Psalm 139:7-12)

The good news is that “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. “1 John 1:9) Then His righteousness will break forth as an overflowing stream and we are free to trust again.  (Judy Whittaker)

Leave a Reply

