God With Us

Due to a serious illness I haven’t written a Bible message for four months. Now that I am in recovery I would like to share with you some of my spiritual reflections on my journey from illness to good health:

God strengthened me when I was so weak I couldn’t even walk. “Wait on the Lord; be of good courage and he shall strengthen your heart…” (Psalm 27:14

God taught  me that there is a time to rest. “Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him.” (Psalm 37:7)

God brought me to the “river of living water” by a visit from a pastor friend who sang “Amazing Grace”, a Eucharistic minister who presented me with a  Gideon Bible ,and  a praise and worship band.

God showed me His love through family and friends who prayed and comforted me. “The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.” (James 5:16)

God inspired me with card messages, flowers, and encouraging words. “Whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things.( Philippians 4:8)

And now that I am in recovery God sends me to bring His healing light to others and share His Word with the hurting and the lost. ” Be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord for as much as you know that your labor is not in vain. (1Corinthians 15:58)

I believe that God spared my life because my work on earth is not yet finished. I must continue to serve Him until Jesus calls me home. There is so much to do–what about you? ” Let  your light shine before men so that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16)   Judy Whittaker

.

Leave a Reply

